Bride & Groom MOM Subscribe

Find Local

Capital Comment Blog > Inauguration 2009

Presidential Inaugural Committee Announces Inauguration Cochairs

The Presidential Inaugural Committee today announced the honorary cochairs for the inauguration. Expected picks include former presidents George H.W. Bush, Bill Clinton, and Jimmy Carter, but a few first-timers cropped up on the list, too.

Among those given the title—and a coveted front-row seat at the swearing-in—is DC mayor Adrian Fenty, who’s been publicly endorsing Obama since July 2007. Craig Robinson, Michelle Obama’s brother, made the list, probably becoming the first basketball coach ever to be given the honor. And Barack Obama’s half-sister, Dr. Maya Soetoro-Ng, will also be attending.

Here are the other honorary cochairs for the 2009 Presidential Inauguration:
• Senator Dick Durbin
• Senator Dick Lugar
• Senator Claire McCaskill
• Representative Tammy Baldwin
• Representative Artur Davis
• Representative Ray LaHood
• Representative Linda Sánchez
• General Colin Powell
• Hunter and Kathleen Biden, Vice President-elect Joe Biden’s son and daughter-in-law.

>>All Inauguration 2009 coverage 

More>> Capital Comment Blog | News & Politics | Society Photos

Read Next

The Morning Buzz

blog comments powered by Disqus

Most Popular on Washingtonian

The Best Cheap Restaurants in Washington, DC

This Hole-in-the-Wall DC Dominican Restaurant Serves Every Team That Plays the Nationals

Things to Do in DC This Weekend June 25-28: Smithsonian Folklife Festival, Cat on a Hot Tin Roof, and "Waterweavers"

A Gay Republican Who Worked for Obama and Lived in DC Wants to Be Maryland's Next US Senator

Inside Roberta Flack’s Former Home in Hollin Hills

Your Ultimate Guide to Eating Cheap in Washington, DC

Cuteness Overload: What You Can Expect to See at DC's First Cat Café

The Best and Worst Sandwiches to Order at Jimmy John's

Where to Find the Best Barbecue Joints in Washington, DC