Calendar of Events
NSLM Exhibition - Intersection: Field sports and the Evolution of Conservation
User Contributed Published October 4, 2012
Location Info
National Sporting Library
Address:
102 The Plains Rd.
Middleburg, VA 20117
Phone Number:
540-687-6542

Event date and times: October 5, 2012, 12:00 PM

Tuesday-Friday 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. and Saturday 1 p.m. to 4 p.m. Closed on federal holidays. August 30, 2012 - January 30, 2013

Cost: Free

Phone: 540-687-6542

Official Website

Event Details: Intersection: Field Sports and the Evolution of Conservation looks at books in the National Sporting Library and Museum collection that are about early gamekeeping and poaching laws, the emergence of the hunter-naturalist, and the development of early conservation laws by sportsmen. Paintings, sculptures, and prints from the 19th century enrich the exhibit. In addition, there are books, sketches, and paintings by three contemporary artists who have continued in the tradition of Walton and Audubon by conversing about and recording wildlife.

Subscribe to Washingtonian
Posted at 02:52 PM/ET, 10/04/2012 RSS | Print | Permalink | Washingtonian.com Events
If you are interested to find out more about the National Sporting Library and other upcoming events at this location, click here.