News & Politics

June 2006: The List of the Top 100 Most Powerful Women

They are women who lead and lobby, educate and enlighten,look for cures and pathways to a better world.

National Powers

Laura Bush, First Lady

Elaine Chao, Secretary of Labor

Lynne Cheney, Second Lady

Ruth Bader Ginsburg, associate justice, US Supreme Court

Tina W. Jonas, under secretary of Defense and chief financial officer

Deborah Platt Majoras, chair, Federal Trade Commission

Harriet Miers, counsel to the President

Condoleezza Rice, Secretary of State

Margaret Spellings, Secretary of Education

Frances Fragos Townsend, assistant to the President for Homeland Security and Counterterrorism

Ann M. Veneman, executive director, UNICEF

On the Hill

Hillary Rodham Clinton, US senator, New York

Susan Collins, US senator, Maine

Karen Haas, clerk, House of Representatives

Kay Bailey Hutchison, US senator, Texas, and vice chair of Senate Republican Conference

Susan McCue, chief of staff, Senate minority leader Harry Reid

Barbara Mikulski, US senator, Maryland

Nancy Pelosi, House minority leader

Deborah Pryce, chair, House Republican Conference

Emily J. Reynolds, secretary of the Senate

Local Leaders

Linda Cropp, chair, DC Council

Elizabeth M. Hewlett, chair, Prince George’s County Planning Board

Charlene Drew Jarvis, president, Southeastern University

Marie Johns, former CEO of Verizon and candidate for DC mayor

Eleanor Holmes Norton, delegate to Congress, District of Columbia

Mame Reiley, board chair, Metropolitan Washington Airports Authority

Ida G. Ruben, president pro tem, Maryland Senate

Christine Saum, director of urban design and plan review, National Capital Planning Commission

Mary Margaret Whipple, Virginia state senator

Legal Authorities

Jamie Gorelick, partner, WilmerHale

Ellen Segal Huvelle, US District Court for the District of Columbia

Colleen Kollar-Kotelly, presiding judge, US Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Court

Maureen Mahoney, partner, Latham & Watkins

Victoria Radd Rollins, partner, Williams & Connolly

Marna Tucker, senior partner, Feldesman Tucker Leifer Fidell

Beth Wilkinson, general counsel, Fannie Mae

Business, Labor, Lobbying

Anna Burger, chair, Change to Win labor coalition

Debbie Dingell, vice chair, General Motors Foundation

Nancy Dorn, vice president for corporate government relations, General Electric

Candace Duncan, Mid-Atlantic managing partner, KPMG

Margaret Renken Hudson, vice president for federal and international affairs, BP

Sheila Johnson, CEO, Salamander Hospitality; president, Washington Mystics

Deborah Kissire, Mid-Atlantic managing partner, Ernst & Young

Barbara Krumsiek, president and CEO, Calvert Group; president, Greater Washington Board of Trade

Charito Kruvant, president and CEO, Creative Associates International

Barbara Lang, president and CEO, DC Chamber of Commerce

Carol A. Melton, executive vice president, global public policy, Time Warner

Maritza Gomez Montiel, regional managing partner, Deloitte

Beverly L. Perry, senior vice president for government affairs and public policy, Pepco

Linda Rabbitt, CEO, Rand Construction

Sheila Tate, vice chair, Powell Tate

Juleanna Glover Weiss, lobbyist, the Ashcroft Group

Catherine West, president, US Card, Capital One Financial

Educators and Experts

Madeleine Albright, former secretary of State; founder, the Albright Group

Katherine “Shelley” Broderick, dean, David A. Clarke School of Law, University of the District of Columbia

Jessica Einhorn, dean, Paul H. Nitze School of Advanced International Studies, Johns Hopkins University

Patricia McGuire, president, Trinity University

Charlene Nunley, president, Montgomery College

Advocates and Nonprofits

Nan Aron, founder and president, Alliance for Justice

Esther Coopersmith, former US ambassador to the UN and Democratic fundraiser

Terri L. Freeman, president, Community Foundation for the National Capital Region

Phyllis Greenberger, president and CEO, Society for Women’s Health Research

Nancy Keenan, president, NARAL Pro-Choice America

Janet Murguia, president, National Council of La Raza

Karen K. Narasaki, president and CEO, Asian American Justice Center

Alma Powell, board chair, America’s Promise—the Alliance for Youth

Catherine B. Reynolds, chair and CEO, Catherine B. Reynolds Foundation

Julie Rogers, president, Eugene and Agnes Meyer Foundation

Jan Verhage, executive director, Girl Scout Council of the Nation’s Capital

Wendy Wright, president and CEO, Concerned Women for America

Health and Medicine

Patricia A. Grady, director, National Institute of Nursing Research

Karen Ignagni, president and CEO, America’s Health Insurance Plans

Marilyn Kawamura, president, Kaiser Foundation Health Plan of the Mid-Atlantic States

Story Landis, director, National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke

Mary Nell Lehnhard, senior vice president, Blue Cross Blue Shield Association

Elizabeth G. Nabel, director, National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute

Nora Volkow, director, National Institute on Drug Abuse

Deborah Yancer, president, Shady Grove Adventist Hospital


Maureen Dowd, columnist, New York Times

Kim Hume, bureau chief, Fox News

Gwen Ifill, moderator, Washington Week

Sandra Johnson, Washington bureau chief, Associated Press

Debra L. Lee, president and COO, Black Entertainment Television

Janet Leissner, vice president and bureau chief, CBS News

Judith McHale, president, Discovery Communications

Diane Rehm, host, The Diane Rehm Show

Sharon Percy Rockefeller, president and CEO, WETA-TV and WETA-FM

Robin Sproul, vice president and bureau chief, ABC News

Katharine Weymouth, vice president of newspaper advertising, Washington Post Company

Arts and Letters

Elizabeth Broun, director,Smithsonian American Art Museum

Sheila Burke, deputy secretary and COO, Smithsonian Institution

Susan Farr, executive director, Clarice Smith Center for the Performing Arts at University of Maryland

Wilhelmina Holladay, founder and board chair, National Museum for Women in the Arts

Dorothy McSweeny, chair, DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities

Sharon Patton, director, National Museum of African Art

Molly Smith, artistic director, Arena Stage

Olga Viso, director, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden

Joy Zinoman, artistic and managing director, Studio Theatre


Susan O’Malley, president, Washington Sports & Entertainment

Deborah Yow, director of athletics, University of Maryland