News & Politics

The Redskins Release Their 2014 Schedule

The regular season has 16 games, with the opener at Houston.

The Redskins race out to the field for their 2013 regular season opener agains the Philadelphia Eagles. The Eagles won 33-27. Photograph by Carol Ross Joynt.

Rookie Redskins coach Jay Gruden will get to open his show on the road, with the regular-season lift-off happening out of town on Sunday, September 7, against the Texans in Houston. But Gruden gets a preseason home debut. The first two exhibition games—against the Patriots on August 7 and the Browns on August 18—are in prime time and will be played at FedEx Field.

Another out-of-town game of note is the team’s first NFC East division contest, against the Philadelphia Eagles on Sunday, September 21, where hopefully ex-Eagle, new-Redskin DeSean Jackson will have something to prove. Last year the Eagles won both games against the Washington.

The rivalry that matters most to fans, though, is against the Cowboys. So mark these dates: Washington plays at Dallas on Monday, October 27, one of three regular-season prime-time slots; and they close out the regular season at home against the Cowboys on Sunday, December 28, in the afternoon.

The Super Bowl will be held in Phoenix on Sunday, February 1.

We asked some area sports experts for their early assessment of the Skins’ fall lineup. Kevin Sheehan of ESPN Radio said, “Bottom line for next year, regardless of whether you think the schedule is easy or hard, next season is about the quarterback. If RGIII bounces back with health and plays like he did in 2012, the sky is the limit. If he doesn’t, it’ll be a long year.” His colleague Thom Loverro, who also writes for the Washington Times, shared his theory that “RGIII leads Redskins to a 9-7 playoff appearance.” That’s a win-loss prediction shared by Holden Kushner of WUSA-9 and MASN, who singled out a game to watch for. “The week-six matchup at Arizona is fascinating because the Cardinals will have one of the best defenses in the NFL.”


Thursday, August 7, 7:30 PM vs. New England Patriots (NBC4/CSN)

Monday, August 18, 8 PM vs. Cleveland Browns (ESPN)

Saturday, August 23, 7:30 PM at Baltimore Ravens (NBC4/CSN)

Thursday, August 28, 7:30 PM at Tampa Bay Buccaneers (NBC4/CSN)


Sunday, September 7, at 1 PM at Houston Texans (FOX)

Sunday, September 14, 1 PM vs. Jacksonville Jaguars (CBS)

Sunday, September 21, 1 PM at Philadelphia Eagles (FOX)

Thursday, September 25, 8:25 PM vs. New York Giants (CBS)

Monday, October 6, 8:30 PM vs. Seattle Seahawks (ESPN)

Sunday, October 12, 4:25 PM at Arizona Cardinals (FOX)

Sunday, October 19, 1 PM vs. Tennessee Titans (CBS)

Monday, October 27, 8:30 PM at Dallas Cowboys (ESPN)

Sunday, November 2, 1 PM at Minnesota Vikings (FOX)

Sunday, November 9 bye week

Sunday, November 16, 1 PM vs. Tampa Bay Buccaneers (FOX)

Sunday, November 23, 4:25 PM at San Francisco 49ers (FOX)

Sunday, November 30, 1 PM at Indianapolis Colts (FOX)

Sunday, December 7, 1 PM vs. St. Louis Rams (FOX)

Sunday, December 14, 1 PM at New York Giants (FOX)

Saturday, December 20, TB vs. Philadelphia Eagles (TBD)

Sunday, December 28, 1 PM vs. Dallas Cowboys (FOX)