Newsletters

I would like to receive the following free email newsletters:

Newsletter Signup
  1. Bridal Party
  2. Dining Out
  3. Kliman Online
  4. Photo Ops
  5. Shop Around
  6. Where & When
  7. Well+Being
  8. Learn more
Music Masters
Here are some of the best-loved veterans of the Washington music scene who still perform in the area
Comments () | Published October 1, 2008
John Eaton. Photograph courtesy of John Eaton

Robert Baker, tenor. Music Center at Strathmore with the National Philharmonic, November 22; operalafayette.org/robert_baker.html.

Nurit Bar-Josef, National Symphony Orchestra concertmaster (performances throughout the year), member of Kennedy Center Chamber Players (Terrace Theater, October 5); nuritbarjosef.com.

Gisèle Becker, singer and music director of Cantate Chamber Singers (St. John’s Norwood Parish, November 22); cantate.org.

Chuck Brown, “godfather of go-go.” Music Center at Strathmore, October 17; windmeupchuck.com.

Paul Carr, jazz saxophonist. The Other Barn, Columbia, October 12; paulcarrjazz.com.

Jon Carroll, rock singer and musician, Barns at Wolf Trap, October 18; joncarroll.org.

Cephas & Wiggins, blues duo. Honfleur Gallery in DC, November 7; cephasandwiggins.net.

Sharon Clark, jazz singer. Regularly at DC’s Mandarin Oriental hotel; chrisgrassomusic.com/sharon_clark.

John Eaton, jazz/pop pianist and singer; often at the Smithsonian, Barns at Wolf Trap, and the JCC of Greater Washington; eatonpiano.com.

Brian Ganz, classical pianist. With the National Philharmonic at Strathmore, October 18; jhu.edu/jhso/artists/ganz.html.

Billy Hancock, rockabilly singer/guitarist. Often at JV’s Restaurant in Falls Church; billyhancock.com.

Bill Kirchen, honky-tonk guitarist. Regularly at Jammin’ Java; billkirchen.com.

Rosa Lamoreaux, soprano. Performs at venues all over the area; rosasings.com.

Lambert Orkis, classical pianist, National Symphony Orchestra principal keyboardist, member of Kennedy Center Chamber Players (Terrace Theater, October 5); lambertorkis.com.

Tom Principato, blues singer/guitarist. BlackRock Center for the Arts, November 8; tomprincipato.com.

Chuck Redd, jazz drummer and vibraphonist. Performs throughout the region, including at Blues Alley; chuckredd.com.

Mary Ann Redmond, pop/rock/jazz singer and guitarist. Frequently at the Harp & Fiddle in Bethesda; maryannredmond.com.

The Seldom Scene, bluegrass band. Birchmere, November 28 and 29; seldomscene.com.

Kenneth Slowik, cellist, gambist, and conductor. Artistic director of the Smithsonian Chamber Music Society. Renwick Gallery with the Axelrod String Quartet, October 18; si.edu/fom.

Linwood Taylor, blues guitarist. State Theatre, December 13; often at Cat’s Eye Pub in Baltimore; linwoodtaylor.com.

Thievery Corporation, DJ duo, part-owners of Eighteenth Street Lounge, where they still spin; thieverycorporation.com.

Charlie Young, alto-saxophone player with Duke Ellington Orchestra and Smithsonian Jazz Masterworks Orchestra. Performs around the area, often at Blues Alley.

More from the Hot Tickets Package

Theater Bargains in Washington

Best Places to See Live Music in Washington

Theater Dining Guide

25 Can't-Miss Shows

Rising Stars in Washington

Performing Arts Showstoppers

Behind the Scenes Wizards

Favorite Washingtonian Actors

Music Masters

Categories:

Where & When
Tags:
Subscribe to Washingtonian
Posted at 05:00 PM/ET, 10/01/2008 RSS | Print | Permalink | Washingtonian.com Articles