Get Where+When delivered to your inbox every Monday and Thursday.

Julie Andrews, Amy Poehler, Tina Fey to Honor Carol Burnett at the Kennedy Center
A stellar lineup will celebrate Burnett at this year’s Mark Twain Prize for American Humor on October 20. By Sophie Gilbert
Comments () | Published September 4, 2013
Photograph of Burnett by Helga Esteb/Shutterstock.

The guest list for this year’s Mark Twain Prize for American Humor has just been announced, and it’s a veritable who’s who of funnywomen (oh, and Tony Bennett). Julie Andrews, Lucie Arnaz, Bennett, Tim Conway, Tina Fey, Rashida Jones, Vicki Lawrence, Amy Poehler, Maya Rudolph, Martin Short, Rosemary Watson, and more will be on hand to fete this year’s recipient: actress, singer, and comedian Carol Burnett.

This is the 16th annual Mark Twain Prize, and the first time ever the award has been given to two women in a row (last year’s ceremony honored Ellen DeGeneres—read more about it in our earlier post). Previous honorees include Richard Pryor, Whoopi Goldberg, Lorne Michaels, Steve Martin, Bill Cosby, Fey, and Will Ferrell. The event will be taped at the Kennedy Center October 20 and broadcast on PBS November 24.


Subscribe to Washingtonian

Discuss this story

Feel free to leave a comment or ask a question. The Washingtonian reserves the right to remove or edit content once posted.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Posted at 11:15 AM/ET, 09/04/2013 RSS | Print | Permalink | Comments () | Blogs