2012 Rammy Finalists Announced

These hotspots made the Restaurant Association of Metropolitan Washington’s list this year.

The team at Elisir. The restaurant received a Rammy nomination for New Restaurant of the Year. Photograph by Kyle Gustafson.

Got an appetite for restaurant awards? We can feed that. Last week, the James Beard Awards announced its list of finalists for this year’s awards, which included these local nominees. And just last night, the Restaurant Association Metropolitan Washington announced the restaurants and dining luminaries that are up for its culinary awards, the Rammys. Winners will be announced on June 24. 

Fine Dining Restaurant of the Year
The Ashby Inn & Restaurant 
Bourbon Steak
The Oval Room 

Upscale Casual Restaurant of the Year
Birch & Barley 

Casual Restaurant of the Year
Bar Pilar 
C.F. Folks 
Hank’s Oyster Bar (DC) 
Mitsitam Cafe 
Room 11

Neighborhood Gathering Place of the Year
Bistrot Du Coin 
Cafe Saint-Ex 
Et Voila! 
The Majestic 

New Restaurant of the Year
Hill Country
Pearl Dive Oyster Palace 

Chef of the Year
Anthony Chittum, Vermilion 
Tony Conte, the Oval Room
Haidar Karoum, Proof 
Kaz Okochi, Kaz Sushi Bistro 
Vikram Sunderam, Rasika 

Rising Culinary Star of the Year
Justin Bittner, Bar Pilar
Logan Cox, Ripple
Claudio Pirollo, Et Voila!
Adam Sobel, Bourbon Steak
Ed Witt, 701 Restaurant 

Pastry Chef of the Year
Cicely Austin, the Oval Room
Fabrice Bendano, Adour
Peter Brett, Blue Duck Tavern 
Alison Reed, Ripple
Susan Wallace, BlackSalt

Wine Program of the Year
Cork Wine Bar 

Beverage/Mixology Program of the Year
Bourbon Steak
EatGoodFood Group
Neighborhood Restaurant Group
Room 11

Power Spot of the Year
701 Restaurant
Founding Farmers (DC)
The Oval Room
The Source by Wolfgang Puck 

Hottest Restaurant Bar Scene of the Year
Black Jack 
The Hamilton 
Hill Country
Mad Fox Brewing Company 

Manager of the Year
Anna-Marie Ashe, Smith Commons 
Daniel Bortnick, Firefly 
Reagan Corbett, Jackson 20 
Alex Munoz, Hill Country
Javier Velazquez, Taberna del Alabardero 

Employee of the Year

Julie Albert, Brasserie Beck/Marcel’s
Ting Forester, District Commons 
Teo Leiva, Fiola
José Alex Medrano, B. Smith’s 
Paris Twyman, Founding Farmers (DC)

Restaurateur of the Year
José Andrés & Rob Wilder, ThinkFoodGroup
Meshelle & Cathal Armstrong, EatGoodFood Group
Michael Babin, Neighborhood Restaurant Group
Ashok Bajaj, Knightsbridge Restaurant Group
Jeff & Barbara Black, Black Restaurant Group

Associate Member of the Year
SYSCO Food Services of Baltimore
Marriott Wardman Park Hotel

Don’t Miss Another New Restaurant—Get Our Food Newsletter

The latest in Washington’s food and drink scene.

Or, see all of our newsletters. By signing up, you agree to our terms.