Our Events

Photos From the 6th Annual Washington Women in Journalism Awards

Kicking off White House Correspondent's Dinner weekend, Washingtonian and Story Partners honored women in journalism.

Photos From the 6th Annual Washington Women in Journalism Awards
Honorees Amanda Terkel, Abby Phillip, Ashley Parker, Andrea Mitchell, Story Partner's Gloria Story Dittus, and Washingtonian's Cathy Merrill Williams.

On Thursday, April 25th, Washingtonian and Story Partners kicked off the White House Correspondents’ Dinner weekend and celebrated influential women in journalism at the sixth annual Washington Women in Journalism Awards. More than 300 guests gathered at the American Revolution Institute at Anderson House to honor Andrea Mitchell, Ashley Parker, Abby Phillip, and Amanda Terkel for their significant contributions to journalism. During the soiree, Washingtonian president and CEO Catherine Merrill Williams and Story Partners chairman Gloria Story Dittus shared remarks about each honoree before presenting her with an award provided by Tiffany & Co.

Congratulations to the award winners for their achievements:
Andrea Mitchell of NBC News received a Lifetime Achievement Award.
Ashley Parker of The Washington Post received an award for Print Journalism.
Abby Phillip of CNN received an award for Broadcast Journalism.
Amanda Terkel of HuffPost received a Rising Star Award.

Guests enjoyed hors d’oeuvres from Ridgewells and sipped on speciality old fashioneds created by On the Rocks and provided by United Airlines. Custom lounges were provided by Electric Events DC and accented with gorgeous spring floral decor from B FloralDJ Chris Laich kept guests entertained with lively music all evening.

Thank you to our sponsors: the National Retail FederationAmerican Beverage Association, the American Council of Life InsurersJohnson & JohnsonNational Association of ManufacturersPhRMASouthern Company, United Airlines, and YWCA

Thank you to our partners:  B FloralElectric Events DC, DJ Chris Laich, and Tiffany & Co.

Photographs by Jeff Elkins and Dan Swartz/Revamp. 

Washingtonian Media president and CEO Catherine Merrill Williams and Story Partners chairman Gloria Story Dittus
Maggie O’Neill, Mary McGinty, and Violetta Markelou.
Rita Cosby and Tomaczek Bednarek.
Sarah Rand, Mary McGinty, Bethany Aronhalt, and Karlie Frank of NRF.
Timothy Lowery and Michael Zingali.
Inside the beautiful American Revolution Institute at Anderson House, branded sponsor lounges were arranged for guests to enjoy.
Kyndele Rhudy, Michelle Keegan, Dede Lea, and Heather Podesta.
Anita Brickman of Consumer Healthcare Products Association (CHPA).
Lounge decor was provided by Electric Events DC.
Jennifer Bendery, Marina Fang, Ryan Reilly, Paige Lavender, and Rebecca Buck.
Tom and Catherine Michael.
The signature cocktail at the event was an old fashioned created by On the Rocks Cocktails, provided by United Airlines.
Susan Neely of the American Council of Life Insurers.
Joe Crowley, Kasey Crowley, Rashida Jones, and Peter Alexander.
Tycely Williams, Juliet Choi, Nancy Yasharoff, and M.T. Domingues of YWCA.
Ridgewells Catering provided a delicious spread for the soiree.
Liza Pluto, Richard Hudock, Ned Price, and Lauren Pratapas.
Wayne Fortune and Brandon Clay.
The honorees received engraved plaques provided by Tiffany & Co.
Gloria Story Dittus and Print Journalism honoree Ashley Parker.
Broadcast Journalism honoree Abby Phillip provided an insightful speech to a garden filled with her peers.
Amanda Terkel truly shined as the event’s Rising Star honoree.
The Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Andrea Mitchell, who had the attention of every attendee during her brilliant remarks.
Amanda Terkel, Abby Phillip, Ashley Parker, Gloria Story Dittus, Andrea Mitchell, Matt Shay, and Catherine Merrill Williams.
Adele Malpass, Susan Dunlevy, and Rachel Pearson.
Mark Ein and Jackie Bradford.
Kriska Welker, Rebecca Cooper., Margaret Talev, and Peter Alexander.
Mike Allen, Howard Fineman, and Lyndon Boozer.
Maureen Dowd, Mike Allen, Alayna Treene, Abby Phillip, and Shannon Vavra.
Bridget Romness and Maria Ghazal.
Maureen Dowd, Patrick Steel, Lynn Sweet, and Steven Clemons.
As guests exited the event, they received gift bags courtesy of the event’s hosts and sponsors.